top of page

City of New Haven


New Haven was platted by Henry Burgess, and was incorporated as a town under Indiana law in 1866. It became incorporated as a city in 1963. Several homes built by the Burgess family remain in New Haven. A Burgess home on Summit Street is the oldest brick structure in Jefferson Township. Henry Burgess' son-in-law, EW. Green built a large frame Greek Revival house on the hill above what is now Central Lutheran School. Another Burgess structure remains at the corner of Summit and Eben Streets.


Allen County 

Occupied for thousands of years by cultures of indigenous peoples, Allen County was organized by European Americans on December 17, 1823, from Delaware and Randolph counties; and formed on April 1, 1824, at the Ewing Tavern. The county is named for Colonel John Allen, an attorney and Kentucky state senator who was killed in the War of 1812.[4] Fort Wayne, founded at the confluences of the MaumeeSt. Joseph, and St. Marys rivers, was chosen as the county seat in May 1824.

bottom of page